Rise and shine!

Are you a morning person or a night owl?  I have been a night owl for as long as I can remember but I am trying desperately to switch that.  Why?

My normal schedule looks something like this:  Press snooze as long as I possibly can in the morning, get up, quickly rush to get my daughter and I ready for work and daycare, I am at work for 9 hours, get home, make supper, spend time with my daughter, put her to bed and by that point I am so exhausted that I just want to crash on my couch and watch meaningless tv for hours.  I find that I don’t take the time to work on my business or personal development because I have already put so much into my day already that I just want to relax.

Over the past few weeks, I have been making an effort to wake up an hour and a half earlier than I normally would.  Instead of hitting snooze, I have been doing some personal development for about 15 minutes, then I take about an hour to work my business.  At this point, my brain is still fresh and I am excited about the day and everything it is going to bring.  I find that I am not as rushed in the morning to get ready and off to work and when I get home at the end of the day, I don’t have that on my conscience that I need to work my business so I can kick back and relax and not have to worry about a thing.

As much as I know that this schedule is going to work better for me and my business, it is REALLY hard to get up in the morning when I am used to always pressing snooze.  A few weeks ago, I was talking to my upline and mentioned that this is what I had started.  She had also started getting up a bit earlier in the morning to get a workout in so we made a pact to text eachother every morning to help motivate eachother and guess what?  It has been SO much easier!  I remember that first morning when my alarm went off, the thought of pressing snooze didn’t even cross my mind.  All I was thinking about was that my friend was going to be texting me in about 45 minutes and I better have a list of things that I had already accomplished that morning.

If you have any goals that you are working towards, I highly encourage you to get yourself an accountability partner.  Not only will they push you to reach your goals but it actually becomes a lot easier to show up!


Leave a Reply

